Cwmbiga has a long and interesting history. We are the 8th owners in as many centuries. There has, however, been human activity at Cwmbiga since the Neolithic period. This is evidenced by Cwmbiga Long Cairn, located about 200 metres from the farmhouse, which was built up to 6,500 years ago.
Prince Gwenwynwyn gave Cwmbiga Farm to Abbey Cwm Hir in the early 13th Century. The Farm formed part of the Abbey's estate for over 300 years until the dissolution of the monasteries. The land then passed into the hands of Robert Dudley, Earl of Leicester. The Earl was Chancellor of Oxford University and before his death in 1588, he decided to make a bequest to University College. That bequest was a clutch of farms and estates in Montgomeryshire, including Cwmbiga.
The College kept the estates for over 300 years until 1920, when it took the decision to sell them and Cwmbiga (then a very large farm of 1300 acres) was sold to Mr Maurice Jones. The period of private ownership was short-lived as the Farm passed to the Forestry Commission in 1939 at which time most of the land, except the 60 acres or so immediately around the farmhouse, was planted with trees to become part of the Hafren Forest.
The Commission sold the farmhouse and surrounding land to Mr Ieuan Rees in 1974. Mr Rees was associated with the farm for more than 60 years: first as a shepherd for Mr Jones, then tenant and, ultimately, owner. Mr Rees farmed the land until his retirement in 2005.
Finally, when refurbishing Cwmbiga we found a fascinating note hidden in the farmhouse about 170 years ago tucked into the end of a beam. It had clearly been hidden in this manner to be found by future occupants of Cwmbiga.